A Proper Night Out

Last night was my first real night out here in Dublin! The erasmus organization at my university arranged a huge pub crawl for all the exchange students.

First off, if you don’t already know, a pub crawl is sort of a tour of pubs. You are assigned a group and you travel with this group to, in our case, 5 pubs and 1 night club. You have a guide who will attempt to keep you together. It felt a little like we were being herded around like irish sheep between pubs, but it was all part of the experience.

So the first pub all 200 of us squeezed into was Bad Bobs. The deal was a free shot of Sambuca with any purchase of a full priced drink. Most everyone got a pint of Guinness or Heineken, but you know unfortunately I’m not a huge fan of beer. Some of the girls who don’t like beer were drinking Bulmer’s cider. Bulmer’s is a simple cider. Personally, I think it’s also pretty gross.

Under the pressure, I just ordered a shot of Bailey’s. I mean you can’t go wrong with that right?

So back to this free shot of Sambuca… never again will I undergo such torture. Apparently this seemingly harmless clear liquor is black licorice flavored. I’m pretty lucky I didn’t spit it right back out all over the bar. Okay you may be thinking I’m exaggerating right now, but you haven’t had a shot of this stuff. No wonder they were giving it out for free!

Bad Bobs definitely had that classic pub feel going on. There was a live band who knew many of the people in the bar were Americans (however, just to be clear there were also French, Belgian, Dutch, Italian, Asian, Canadian, English, Australian folk to name a few). Anyways so this band played all these old school American “classics”. We got American Pie, Wagon Wheel, and Sweet Caroline. They may have been stereotyping the hell out of us, but I wasn’t complaining. Those are some good choices alright. The sing along possibilities were endless and the group didn’t disappoint. You can imagine how angelic our chorus sounded.

IMG_3426

So then we proceeded to 4 more varying pubs: from a grudge blacked out place to a fancy Wing-Stop, our guides did a good job of giving us some variety.

I would definitely recommend a pub crawl to anyone new to Dublin, I met lots of really fun people. It’s really the perfect environment to make memories. I will probably do another pub specific post while I’m here but I have to say there is a place for everyone to go out here in Dublin. There is every sort of atmosphere you are looking for. Wether you are looking for a nice quiet evening beer, a drunken pub sing fest, some emo hard rock sketched out corner, or just a fun place to see live music with friends, it’s all readily available. Especially the live music part, every pub we went to had live music (except the night club at the end).

By the end of the night I had…

…been offered kisses from 3 different nationalities.

…tasted my first sip of Guinness.

…had a great conversation with the taxi driver who is from the north side of Dublin and plays Gaelic football.

…been picked up by a very drunk Ohioan for no apparent reason. I guess he was excited about something and I was there.

…introduced myself approximately 62 times.

…made quite a few new friends.

Pub Crawl Group

Here’s to doing it all again!

Leave a Reply

