Murphy’s Law & The Cliffs of Moher

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.  – Murphy’s Law

My Mom and Aunt are headed back to the states this morning, and I must say they seemed pretty ready to return to the homeland. I think they loved the trip, but then, also will love the comfort of an accessible Target, two lane roads, and driving on the right side of the highway. 

I won’t go into all the details of our trip, but I think you guys may find a few incidents entertaining.

The first day of travel looked pretty bleak, sort of the usual drizzly windy Irish day. We stopped at a convince store and as it was pretty obvious we weren’t locals, he asked us our destination. We said the Cliffs of Moher and his reply was “Oh nooo, no cliffs today. You’ll end up in da pub.” Maybe you had to be there, but I thought it was hilarious. Fortunately the sun came out and eventually we got to experience this:

Image

 

Image

 

Of course, nothing is that easy. So as we pull up to the cliff’s visitor center, we hit a curb. Oh. We hit it hard. Our front left tire was killed on impact… he never stood a chance. So then me and my aunt hop out. We’re pulling out all kinds of weird shaped tools from the trunk. We did manage to pump the car up… only to have the wheels roll forward twice. We forgot about that whole parking break thing. The next task was to get the hubcap off. Oh man. We had no idea haha. I mean I’m sitting on the ground like how the hell. Me and my aunt are putting pressure on it at different angles, trying to twist it off, pretty much anything you can think of, we tried. 

This park ranger walks up and just pops the thing off with his index finger. LIKE BATMAN.

Yeah. I think we fulfilled that Americans-can’t-do-anything prophecy.

Throw in a shoe that falls apart, one lost glove, and many a wrong turn and we’re making memories. 

Image

Leave a Reply

